Chiropractic Qualifications

Australian chiropractors are five-year university trained, are government registered and regulated healthcare professionals.

To become a registered chiropractor in Australia you must have studied an accredited five-year chiropractic program conducted at a University in Australia or have completed an accredited program overseas that satisfies the requirements set by the Australian Chiropractic Regulating authority

A chiropractor’s education never ends. After entering practice, all chiropractors must complete continuing professional development courses and seminars to upgrade and improve their skills and stay up to date on the latest scientific research.

Currently there are four universities in Australia that have chiropractic degree programs.

RMIT University in Melbourne, Victoria offers a Bachelor of Health Science (Chiropractic) – 3-year undergraduate program followed by a Master of Clinical Chiropractic – 2-year postgraduate program.

Macquarie University in Sydney, New South Wales has a 3-year Bachelor of Chiropractic Science which provides the basis for entry into a 2-year Master of Chiropractic.

Murdoch University in Perth, Western Australia offers a Bachelor of Applied Science (in Chiropractic) / Bachelor of Chiropractic. This is offered as a double degree. Successful completion of the whole program of study is required 
for professional registration as a chiropractor.

Central Queensland University (Mackay, Brisbane, Melbourne and Sydney) offers a 3-year Bachelor of Science (Chiropractic) and a 2-year Master of Clinical Chiropractic.